Explore the article to know about great women players, known as the legends of Australia Open Grand Slam Tennis Championship.

Australian Open Women Legends

Tennis has witnessed the rise and fall of numerous players. Some of them have faded away, while many others are still fresh in the minds of the ardent fans of the game, as legends. Australia Open Grand Slam Tennis championship is one of the most prestigious competitions in the sport, which has saw many players winning the title. In this article, we have provided information about some of the great women players, who need to be recalled for their superior performance in Australia Open.

Margaret Smith Court
Margaret Court is regarded as one of the promising players in the Open era. Born on 16 July 1942, the former World No. 1 tennis player took retirement from the sports after winning a number of titles. The tennis player from Australia was the first woman in the Open era to have won all the four Grand Slam titles in the same year. She won 11 Australian Open championships in her career (1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1969, 1970, 1971 and 1973).

Nancye Wynne Bolton
Nancye Wynne Bolton, a former tennis player from Australia, was positioned second to Margaret Court, for the winning maximum number of singles titles in the game. She has won 6 Australian Open championships till date (1937, 1940, 1946, 1947, 1948 and 1951) and won 11 titles as well. She was the Wimbledon Mixed doubles runner-up in 1947 and1951. Bolton was ranked World No. 4 in 1947.

Steffi Graf
Another legend in the field of tennis is Stefanie Maria Graf (fondly called Steffi Graf), the promising player from West Germany. Born on June 14, 1969, the former World No. 1 player is regarded as one of the greatest women of all times, in the sport. She has grabbed all the four Grand Slam titles several times and has won Olympic medal for her excellence in the tennis. She was also named as the greatest female tennis player of the 20th century. She has won 4 Australian Open championships till date (1988, 1989, 1990 and 1994).

Evonne Goolagong-Cawley
Evonne Goolagong-Cawley has been enlisted among the best Australian tennis players. Born on 31 July 1951, Evonne Goolagong Cawley was one of the top players during the 1970s as well as in the following decade. She has won 4 Australian Open championships till date (1974, 1975, 1976 and 1977). Cawley has grabbed Wimbledon title twice and won French Open once.

Thelma Coyne Long
Thelma Coyne Long, the Sydney-born player, virtually ruled the Australian tennis from the mid-1930s to the 1950s. She features in women's doubles contests and won several titles. She reached a career high in 1952, when she was positioned in the seventh place in World ranking. She received the Australian Sports Medal in 2000. She has won 2 Australian Open championships till date (1952, 1954).

Martina Hingis
Martina Hingis is a retired tennis player, who was positioned as World No. 1 for a period of 209 weeks. Born on September 30, 1980, the player from Czechoslovakia has won five Grand Slam singles titles and grabbed the Grand Slam women's doubles titles for nine time. She withdrew from the game at the age of 22, after being diagnosed for ligament injuries in both ankles. She won 4 Australian Open championships in her tennis career (1997, 1998, 1999 and 2002).